Medical marijuana card in Florida is finally a streamlined process, but it can still be slightly confusing or intimidating for first-timers. Just so you know, more than 300,000 Florida residents have qualified for a medical marijuana card since the state legalized its use for certain health conditions. Every state in the United States has its own set of guidelines to acquire this card. This is why we have developed an easy-to-follow set of instructions on how to obtain your medical marijuana card in Florida.
Who can qualify:
To qualify for medical marijuana in Florida, you should:
- Be diagnosed by a certified physician with a qualifying condition
- Have permanent or temporary residency in the state of Florida
What’s a qualifying condition:
Any of these can be criteria for medical marijuana: ALS, cancer, Crohn’s disease, epilepsy, glaucoma, HIV/AIDs, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, PTSD. The law also has a provision for “other debilitating medical conditions of the same kind or class,” meaning, for example, if you have an autoimmune condition like lupus, a doctor can technically prescribe marijuana for that.
Your doctor will register you
Have your doctor register you with the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Physicians usually have the final say and must exercise discretion to determine if your symptoms, pain, or condition fall within the indications for medical marijuana. If you’re a Florida resident, we recommend that you carry your driver’s license or passport. If you’re a seasonal resident, you can choose to bring a lease or deed, as well as other proof of residence such as a utility bill. You could bring some medical records to aid your qualification for a card, but this is not mandatory.
Fill out your application
If you qualify, you will need to fill out an online application sent to your email. This application is how you register for a medical marijuana card. Your application will be reviewed and, if approved, a medical card will be sent to you through the mail.
Other things to keep in mind
Allow 30 days for the review of your application, and please note that there is a $75 application fee.
Marijuana cards expire after one year and must be renewed. To avoid delays in filling your orders, apply for the renewal 45 days before your card expires.
Regarding travel, it is not recommended that you travel with your purchased medical marijuana on your person or in your car until you have received your card in the mail, just as a safety precaution.
Are there possession limits?
Yes! There are. A qualified physician can typically order up to six 35-day supplies of smokable medical marijuana. However, a patient may only have up to 4 ounces in the form of smoking at any given time.
Growing your own marijuana
DON’T! Only licensed dispensing centers are allowed to grow marijuana, so please don’t do it yourself!
When consuming medical marijuana, remember to do so responsibly. Though you are permitted to consume cannabis with a prescription from marijuana doctors, doing so publicly could lead to confrontation with law enforcement. In addition, consuming marijuana may affect your ability to operate a motor vehicle and lead to a DUI arrest.